Public Document Pack

COUNCIL

At a meeting of the Council on Friday, 17 May 2024 in the Council Chamber, Runcorn Town Hall

> Present: Councillors Ball, Baker, Begg, Bevan, Bramwell, Carlin, Dennett, Davidson, Dourley, Fry, Garner, Gilligan, Goodall, Harris, S. Hill, V. Hill, Jones, M. Lloyd Jones, P. Lloyd Jones, C. Loftus, K. Loftus, Logan, Lowe, McDermott, A. McInerney, T. McInerney, Nelson, L. Nolan, P. Nolan, Philbin, Polhill, C. Plumpton Walsh, N. Plumpton Walsh, Ratcliffe, Rowe, Ryan, Stockton, Stretch, Skinner, Teeling, Thompson, Thornton, Wainwright, Wallace, Wharton, Woolfall and Wright

Apologies for Absence: Councillors Abbott, Hutchinson, Leck and Wall

Absence declared on Council business: None

Officers present: M. Reaney, Z. Fearon, S. Wallace-Bonner, S. Young, G. Ferguson and W. Rourke

Also in attendance: 56 Members of the public

COU1 ELECTION OF MAYOR AND DEPUTY MAYOR

Action

Moved by Councillor P. Nolan and seconded by Councillor T. McInerney:-

RESOLVED: That Councillor Kevan Wainwright be elected Mayor of the Borough for the Municipal Year 2024/25.

Moved by Councillor Wright and seconded by Councillor Wallace:-

RESOLVED: That Councillor Martha Lloyd Jones be elected Deputy Mayor of the Borough for the Municipal Year 2024/25.

THE MAYOR, COUNCILLOR WAINWRIGHT IN THE CHAIR

COU2 COUNCIL MINUTES

The minutes of the meeting of Council held on 6 March 2024, having been circulated, were taken as read and signed as a correct record.

COU3 THE MAYOR'S ANNOUNCEMENTS

The Mayor made the following announcement that the Charity he would support during his term of office would be:

Partnership with the Mayor of Halton:

The Halton Foundation will be working with the Mayor of Halton, Kevan Wainwright, who wishes to engage with donors and businesses to raise new funds. The fundraising objective is to make bursaries available for young people under 25 from vulnerable families, or for young people who have a disability or learning difference, in order to support their further education. Any funds raised will make a vital difference to young people from Halton to give them better life opportunities as they leave school.

COU4 LEADER'S REPORT

There were no Leader's announcements.

COU5 MUNICIPAL ELECTION RESULTS 2024/25

Details of the Borough Council elections held on 2 May 2024 were submitted for information.

RESOLVED: That the election results be noted.

COU6 EXECUTIVE BOARD (SELECTION COMMITTEE) 14 MAY 2024

The following results of the Executive Board (Selection Committee) were moved by the Mayor and seconded by the Deputy Mayor.

COU7 LEADER AND DEPUTY LEADER OF THE COUNCIL

RESOLVED: That Councillor Mike Wharton be appointed Leader of the Council for the Municipal Year 2024/25 and Councillor Dave Thompson be appointed Deputy Leader of the Council for the Municipal Year 2024/25.

COU8 BOARDS, COMMITTEES AND PANELS

RESOLVED: That the Boards and Committees be constituted with the membership as shown for the Municipal Year 2024/25:-

Executive Board (10)

Councillors Wharton, (Chair), Ball, Dennett, Harris, M. Lloyd Jones, T. McInerney, Nelson, P. Nolan, Thompson and Wright.

Health & Wellbeing Board

Councillors Wright (Chair), Ball, T. McInerney and Woolfall.

Corporate Policy and Performance Board (11)

Councillors Gilligan (Chair), Philbin (Vice Chair), Davidson, Hutchinson, Leck, Logan, Lowe, McDonough, A. McInerney, N. Plumpton Walsh and Thornton.

Health Policy and Performance Board (11)

Councillors Dourley (Chair), Baker (Vice Chair), Begg, Davidson Fry, Garner, Goodall, C. Loftus, L. Nolan, Stretch and Thornton.

Environment and Urban Renewal Policy and Performance Board (11)

Councillors Woolfall (Chair), P. Lloyd Jones (Vice Chair), Hughes, Hutchinson, K. Loftus, L. Nolan, Ryan, Skinner, Stockton, Thornton and Wall.

Employment, Learning, Skills and Community Policy and Performance Board (11)

Councillors Jones (Chair), Teeling (Vice Chair), Abbott, Connolly, Garner, S. Hill, Hutchinson, McDonough, Rowe, Ryan and Stretch.

Children, Young People and Families Policy and Performance Board (11)

Councillors Logan (Chair), C. Plumpton Walsh (Vice Chair), Baker, Begg, Goodall, Jones, P. Lloyd Jones, McDermott, Ratcliffe, Ryan and Skinner.

Safer Policy and Performance Board (11)

Councillors N. Plumpton Walsh (Chair), Carlin (Vice Chair) Baker, Bevan, Bramwell, Goodall, V. Hill, Lowe, Ratcliffe, Skinner and Wallace.

Development Management Committee (11)

Councillors S. Hill (Chair), Leck (Vice Chair), Bevan, Carlin, C. Loftus, Philbin, C. Plumpton Walsh, Polhill, Rowe, Thompson and Woolfall.

Audit and Governance Board (11)

Councillors Polhill (Chair), Wall (Vice Chair), Abbott, Begg, Connolly, Dourley, Gilligan, McDermott, N. Plumpton Walsh, Ratcliffe and Wallace.

Regulatory Committee (11)

Councillors Wallace (Chair), Abbott (Vice-Chair), Bramwell, Dourley, Fry, V. Hill, Hughes, K. Loftus, A. McInerney, Stockton and Teeling.

Mayoral Committee (5)

Councillors Wainwright, V. Hill, Gilligan, Philbin and Wright.

Appointments Committee (6)

Councillors Wharton (Leader), Thompson (Deputy Leader), Dennett (or another portfolio holder as selected by Leader), McDermott (or a Chair of a PPB, selected by Leader) Ratcliffe and Davidson.

Scrutiny Co-Ordinator: Councillor McDermott.

COU9 APPOINTMENT OF SCRUTINY CO-ORDINATOR

RESOLVED: That Councillor Tony McDermott be appointed Scrutiny Co-ordinator for the Municipal Year 2024/25.

COU10 APPOINTMENT OF CO-OPTEE

RESOLVED: That Mr David Wilson be re-appointed as the Healthwatch Halton representative and non-voting Co-optee to the Health Policy and Performance Board for the Municipal Year 2024/25.

COU11 APPOINTMENT OF OUTSIDE BODIES

The Council considered a report of the Chief Executive, regarding the appointment of Members to serve on various Outside Bodies. A document was tabled showing the recommendations put forward.

RESOLVED: That representatives be appointed to Outside Bodies in accordance with the tabled document.

COU12 EXECUTIVE BOARD PORTFOLIOS

The Leader confirmed that the Executive Board would consist of the following Portfolio holders for the Municipal Year 2024/25:-

Leader - Councillor Wharton - Overall Leadership and Corporate Strategy, Communications and Liverpool City Region matters Deputy Leader - Councillor Thompson - Leadership on

Cheshire Sub-Regional matters and Major Projects

Councillor T. McInerney - Children and Young People Councillor Ball - Adult Social Care Councillor Dennett - Corporate Services Councillor Wright - Health and Wellbeing Councillor M. Lloyd Jones - Community Safety Councillor Nelson - Environmental & Urban Renewal Councillor P. Nolan - Employment, Learning & Skills and Community Councillor Harris - Climate Change

RESOLVED: That the Portfolios be noted.

COU13 UPDATES TO COUNCIL CONSTITUTION (MINUTE EXB107 REFERS)

Executive Board had considered a report of the Director, Legal and Democratic Services, which sought approval of a number of changes to the Council's Constitution.

RESOLVED: That Council approve the revised Constitution, including the matters set out in Appendix 1, attached to the report.

COU14 URGENT DECISION

The Council considered a report of the Chief Executive, on the urgent decisions taken since the last meeting of the Council.

RESOLVED: That Council note the report.

COU15 CIVIC SUNDAY

The Mayor announced his intention to attend a Civic Service at St Edwards Catholic Church, Ivy Street, Runcorn, WA7 5NZ, on Sunday 30th June 2024, at 10.30am.

Meeting ended at 7.25 p.m.